Bil Browning

CONTEST: Your Boyfriend & Other Guys I've Kissed

Filed By Bil Browning | October 31, 2011 3:00 PM | comments

Filed in: Contests, Entertainment
Tags: book contest, free books

Courtesy of Get Red PR, today's contest is for one of three copies of Your Boyfriend and Other Guys I've Kissed by Totally Tyler. The popular gay blogger's stories have thrilled many fans, but now you can totally-tyler.jpegpick up a copy of his best tales and hold them in your hand!

In the tradition of David Sedaris and Carrie Bradshaw, party boy blogger Totally Tyler, hilariously navigates his way through the gay Atlanta dating scene--one lemon drop martini at a time - in his debut book YOUR BOYFRIEND & OTHER GUYS I'VE KISSED: THE TAILS OF TOTALLY TYLER (The Nazca Plains Corporation, September 16, 2011). Sometimes humorous, sometimes heartbreaking, always poignant, Totally Tyler weaves triumphant and tragic tales of tail.

In this, his first collection of stories, Totally Tyler, explores why they call it the Dirty South by dishing on the ones who got away, the ones who should have stayed, and why the Queen of Queens (Madonna, of course) rules his world.

Given its cheeky and suggestive title, you'll hear plenty about kissing toads and princes and the dating scene differences between Hotlanta and the Big Apple, but you'll also learn about Tyler's family, because in his words, "I didn't want to look like a complete slut and also because my family is adorably kooky and entertaining."

Wit and belly-aching laughs aside, YOUR BOYFRIEND & OTHER GUYS I'VE KISSED is truly an age-old tale of a man looking for love. Despite race, religion or sexual preference, this is a topic that most can relate to. So pour yourself a drink, curl up with Tyler's book & laugh yourself through any problems you may have faced that day.

Rules and a sample excerpt after the break.

To enter, simply leave a comment on this post and tell us about the person you most regret kissing.

  • Contributors are not eligible to win.
  • Contest ends Wednesday, November 2 at midnight Eastern time.
  • Three winners will be picked based off the comments left on the post.
  • Any prizes unclaimed by Friday, November 4 will be awarded to another entrant.
  • Only one entry per person.
  • Prizes will be shipped on Monday, November 10.
  • You do not have to purchase anything to win.
  • We will not share your contact information with anyone.

Sample Excerpt (Chapter 1- Seeing Red)

"I had insomnia all week and when I couldn't sleep, I called Red and we talked until the daylight hours. Red and I got along famously on the phone. After talking to him for several hours for several nights, I thought I was getting to know him very well. We had a lot in common and there was definitely what I call "phone chemistry." But there were clues to a craziness that I ignored. Like the fact that he refused to use his real name and insisted on being called upon by a color: Red. Not crimson or brick red, just Red. Also, he had three jobs and lived in a doublewide trailer in Kennesaw.

With his mother.

Did I mention they had no running hot water?

For our first date, we decided on dinner and a movie. Going to the movies is a horrible first date idea, but Red really wanted to see the comic-book film Electra, which had just been released. I grew out of my fascination with comic books and superheroes in the fifth grade, when, after only eighteen issues, DC Comics discontinued the comic book based on the popular eighty's television show V. Don't get me wrong--I loved me some Wonder Woman--hell, I wanted to be Wonder Woman, but as an adult, I can't seem to maintain interest in caped crusaders, super powers, and other nerdy favorites. The Batman movie? I fell asleep. Spiderman? I fell asleep in that one, too. My friends know if they want to make me yawn, all they have to do is talk about Green Lantern or Pokémon. I hoped that Red would not want to follow the comic-book movie with dinner at a restaurant where he could color on his placemat."


Recent Entries Filed under Contests:

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.


Pre DADT I was visiting Nevada for an exercise. On the way back to billeting from the NCO club I started talking to a cultish guy. I think we wound up kissing behind a static display. He wanted to show me something back in his dorm, so we went. We walked into a fight in his room - a cop barracks no less. After beating a discrete retreat, I vowed to hang out with my shop mates for the rest of the deployment.