Bil Browning

Obama announces LGBT leadership council

Filed By Bil Browning | August 09, 2007 10:42 AM | comments

Filed in: Politics
Tags: Barack Obama, election 2008, gay rights, supporters

Barack Obama's campaign announced the formation of his "National LGBT Leadership Council" today in a press release sent to The Bilerico Project. The group will be organizing house parties to watch the HRC/Logo debates tonight on television. Also new is the "Obama Pride" section of his campaign website - complete with a blog. Unfortunately, the press release we were sent can't be found anywhere on the site.

Obama also released a list of supporters from the LGBT community - with some impressive names including the Rev Gene Robinson and Chris Hughes, the founder of Facebook. (See after the jump for the complete list of names.) “I’m proud to have the support of these LGBT leaders who work each day for equality and justice, whether it’s educating their communities or reforming their government,” said Senator Obama. “These Americans, like all Americans, are ready to change the divisive politics in Washington so we can make real the promises of equality and justice that are at the heart of our nation’s founding.”

As most regular readers know by now, I'm a Bill Richardson supporter. Through regular e-mails and phone calls, I've kept in touch with the campaign and I've repeatedly urged them to do something surrounding the LGBT community. Unfortunately, my advice seems to have fallen on deaf ears. It's enough to make me reconsider my support. Now that Clinton, Edwards and Obama have all released lists of LGBT supporters and made our community a focal point of their campaign, perhaps Gov Richardson will realize that if he chooses to jump on this bandwagon now, he'll be in 4th place yet again.

The members of the National LGBT Leadership Council are:

  • Stampp Corbin, National LGBT Liaison, Obama for America; Former Human Rights Campaign Board Member; High Tech Entrepreneur

  • Terje Anderson, VT, Former Executive Director for the National Association of People with AIDS

  • Tom Barbera, NH, Board Member, Bay State Stonewall Democrats and Vice Chair, SEIU National Lavendar Caucus

  • Paris Barclay, CA, Emmy Award Winning Producer and Director

  • Michael Bauer, IL, Community Activist

  • Tommy Bennett, IL, Radio Personality, Tom Joyner Show

  • Rosalyn Bugg, CA, Community Organizer

  • Phil Burgess, IL, National Director, Pharmacy Affairs, Walgreens

  • Ed Butler, NH, State Representative

  • Beth Bye, CT, Connecticut State Assemblywoman

  • Thomas Chaderjian, IL, Stonewall Democrats

  • Gary Cloutier, CA, Councilmember and Vice Mayor, Vallejo

  • Jon Cooper, NY, Suffolk County Legislature Majority Leader

  • Craig Covery, MI, Councilman, Ferndale City

  • Terry Crow, MO, Attorney

  • Chris Diebel, IA, Business Leader

  • Karla Drenner, GA, State Representative

  • Bevan Dufty, CA, San Francisco Board of Supervisors

  • Rick Garcia, IL, Director, Equality Illinois

  • Carlos Garza, IA, Chair, Des Moines Pride

  • Richard Gordon, Supervisor, San Mateo County Board of Supervisors

  • Nancy Greaney, NH, PFLAG New Hampshire

  • Greg Harris, IL, State Representative

  • Wendy Howell, VT, Community Organizer

  • Chris Hughes, IL, Founder, Facebook; Obama Campaign Director of Online Organizing

  • Harold Janeway, NH, State Senator, PFLAG Member

  • Vincent Jones, CA, Executive Director, Center for Health Justice

  • Nicole LeFavour, ID, State Representative

  • Ed Lehman, CA, Union Organizer

  • Robert Lilligren, MN, VP, Minneapolis City Council

  • Gordene Mackenzie, MA, MA Transgender Political Coalition

  • Sharon Malhero, IA, Activist

  • Timothy Patrick McCarthy, MA, Harvard University

  • Darryl Moore, CA, Berkeley City Council Member

  • Ed Murray, WA, State Senator

  • Nancy Nangeroni, MA, MA Transgender Political Coalition

  • Michael Noll, CA, Vice Mayor, Signal Hill

  • Renae Ogletree, IL, Community Organizer

  • Paul Provost, MN, Business Manager

  • Rebecca Prozan, CA, Chair, Alice B. Toklas Club

  • Nicole M. Ramirez, CA, City Commissioner, San Diego

  • Tonyia M. Rawles, CA, Bishop-Elect, Unity Fellowship Church Movement

  • Donna Red Wing, CO, Activist

  • Dr. Penny Robbins, IL, Reverend

  • Gene Robinson, NH, Bishop

  • Robert Ryken, IL, Attorney

  • Debra Shore, IL, Commissioner, Chicago Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

  • Stephen Smith, CA, Former DNC Member

  • Eric Tabor, IA, Chief of Staff, Attorney General Tom Miller

  • Maxim Thorne, NJ, Former Executive Director, Head Start New Jersey

  • Dr. Leanne Tigert, MA, Minister

  • Lew Todd, NY, Founding Member, Stonewall Democratic Club, Gay Activists Alliance, National Gay Task Force

  • Tom Tunney, IL, Chicago Alderman

  • David Upthegrove, WA, State Representative

  • Tawnee Walling, NH, Director of Seacoast Outright

  • Gene Webb, IL, University of Chicago

  • Richard A. Wilson, IL, Chair, National Lesbian and Gay Law Association

  • Tobias Barrington Wolff, PA, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.

just a typo - it's Debra Shore (not Deborah) - see - where did you get this list? the source needs to be corrected.

Thanks! I've made the correction. The list came from the Obama campaign...