Alex Blaze

LGBT Equality Congressional Caucus forms...

Filed By Alex Blaze | June 05, 2008 1:30 PM | comments

Filed in: Politics, The Movement
Tags: Barney Frank, Congress, House of Representatives, LGBT, LGBT Congressional Caucus, LGBT equality congressional caucus, Tammy Baldwin

As H. Alexander Robinson posted last night, yesterday 52 members of the House came together to form an LGBT Equality Caucus. The full list is after the jump.

It'll be headed up by Tammy Baldwin and Barney Frank. And while it's being billed as a "bipartisan" affair with people from "different parties" coming together, there are only two Republicans on board - Ileana Ros-Lehtinen from Florida and Chris Shays from Connecticut. Not even ENDA co-author Deborah Pryce joined up.

Of all the states represented, none of Indiana's Representatives have signed up.

Still, another sign that we're not as radioactive in politics as we used to be.

Rob Andrews (D-NJ)
Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
Lois Capps (D-CA)
Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
Joseph Crowley (D-NY)
Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Keith Ellison (D-MN)
Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ)
Mike Honda (D-CA)
Barbara Lee (D-CA)
James McGovern (D-MA)
Jerry Nadler (D-NY)
Linda Sánchez (D-CA)
Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Hilda Solis (D-CA)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)
Henry Waxman (D-CA)
Anthony Weiner (D-NY)
Peter Welch (D-VT)
Howard Berman (D-CA)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Robert Brady (D-PA)
Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Susan Davis (D-CA)
Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Luis Gutierrez (D-IL)
Phil Hare (D-IL)
Rush Holt (D-NJ)
Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)
Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Doris Matsui (D-CA)
James Moran (D-VA)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
Steven Rothman (D-NJ)
José Serrano (D-NY)
Chris Shays (R-CT)
Pete Stark (D-CA)
Betty Sutton (D-OH)
Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)
Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
Robert Wexler (D-FL)
Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.

I, too, was disappointed that, other than Baldwin, Wisconsin is unrepresented on the group's roster. I'll be writing to my rep as well as the rest of the WI contingent to urge them to join.

I am happy to see that my Rep, Debbie Wasserman-Shultz, has signed on. She has been very good for our community here in Florida.

Bill Perdue Bill Perdue | June 5, 2008 5:42 PM

Barney Frank!?

The Quisling? The front man for the business owners and bigots who gutted ENDA? The self appointed ‘leader’ who openly despises transsexual/transgendered people?

The one who was the campaign manager for Hillary Clinton when she was openly appealing for racist votes?

That Barney Frank!? What is this, some kind of a sick joke?

No, it’s not a joke. It’s just life in the Democratic Party.

Robert Ganshorn Robert Ganshorn | June 5, 2008 9:39 PM

I was happy to see Luis Guttierez on the list. He was my representative in Chicago. Virtually no Gay constituency in his congressional district so it is obviously a matter of conscience at last.

Great information Alex.

Yeah. No one from Indiana. Imagine.

Where is Wilson to explain why Carson is not on this list?

May I suggest that if you don't see the name of your Representative on the list, that you give that person's office a call, and offer a bit of a nudge?

Alexander Robinson pointed out last night that the entire Black Congressional Caucus is on the list, and I see quite a few Spanish names up there too, so yay for that.