John M. Becker

Bilerico Contributor Mark King Wins Journalism Award

Filed By John M. Becker | July 24, 2014 1:00 PM | comments

Filed in: Media
Tags: awards, Mark King, NLGJA

mark kingToday is a proud day for the Bilerico family: contributor Mark S. King (pictured here with Anita Mann) is being honored by the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association with the Excellence in Blogging award for his website, My Fabulous Disease. Congratulations, Mark!

The NLGJA announced its 2014 Excellence in Journalism award winners and honorees yesterday. In addition to Mark King, the list included several friends of the Bilerico Project, including Chris Geidner of BuzzFeed, Tracy Baim of Windy City Media, Donna Cartwright of the New York Times, and Gabriel Arana of The American Prospect. Our hearty congratulations also go out to Chris, Tracy, Donna, and Gabe, and to all the honorees.

The full list is after the break.

LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame Inductees
Tracy Baim, Windy City Media publisher, editor, author, historian and filmmaker;
Lisa Keen, often considered the dean of America's gay political reporting;
Donna Cartwright, veteran copy editor at The New York Times and longtime transgender, LGBT and labor activist.

Journalist of the Year Award
Chris Geidner

Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBT Journalist of the Year
Lila Shapiro

Excellence in Blogging
First: Mark King for "My Fabulous Disease"

Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award
First: David France for "How to Survive a Plague"
Second: Steve Blanchard for "Chasing the Bug"

Excellence in News Writing Award
First: Timothy Cwiek for coverage of Nizah Morris case
Second: Beth Hawkins "Same-sex marriage, Minnesota and the Supreme Court: an FAQ for the befuddled"

Excellence in Feature Writing Award
First: Gabriel Arana for "Soldier without a War"
Second: Melissa Griffiths for "LGBTQ in the Capital" (series)
Third: Beth Schwartzapfel for "Little Boxes"

Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award
First: Tracy Baim for "The content of our character: Trayvon and us"
Second: Gail Shister for "Is Your Husband Gay?"
Third: Steve Friess for "My Turn as a Target of 'God Hates Fags' Preacher Fred Phelps"

Excellence in Online Journalism Award
First: Dani McClain for "Being 'Masculine of Center' While Black"

Excellence in Multimedia Award
First: Michelle Garcia for "The State of Pride in Sports"

Excellence in Photojournalism Award
First: D. David Robinson and Sunnivie Brydum for "We Are Here: LGBTI in Uganda"

Excellence in Student Journalism Award
First: Samuel Nemir Olivares Bonilla for "Boston Groups Reach Out to LGBT Youth of Color"

Excellence in Local Television Award
First: John-Carlos Estrada for "Bar Kicks Out Gay Couple for Dancing"

Excellence in Radio Award
First: Emma Jacobs for "One Gay, Binational Couple's Story -- and Hopes -- As Supreme Court Decision Nears"

Leave a comment

We want to know your opinion on this issue! While arguing about an opinion or idea is encouraged, personal attacks will not be tolerated. Please be respectful of others.

The editorial team will delete a comment that is off-topic, abusive, exceptionally incoherent, includes a slur or is soliciting and/or advertising. Repeated violations of the policy will result in revocation of your user account. Please keep in mind that this is our online home; ill-mannered house guests will be shown the door.